Health insurance is required for all Californians in 2020

Find out about the tax penalty and if you qualify for the new state subsidy.


Getting financial help

Getting health coverage is more affordable than ever with the new state subsidy.

If you’re not covered by your employer’s health plan or have other qualified coverage, you can go to coveredca.com to see if you’re eligible for financial help.

  • Financial help may be available to lower your monthly cost for coverage.
  • You can shop and compare qualified health insurance plans.

Do I qualify for financial assistance?

The federal government may help you pay for your health coverage from Sharp Health Plan. Your modified gross income and family size will determine your financial eligibility. 

Number of people in household Qualifying annual family income levels
1 $74,940 or below
2 $101,460 or below
3 $127,980 or below
4 $154,500 or below
5 $181,020 or below
 6 $207,540 or below

Financial assistance

Financial assistance reduces the cost of monthly premiums. To find out more, contact our Individual & Family Plans sales team at 1-858-499-8211 or ifpsales@sharp.com.

Paying the penalty

The last day to enroll and avoid a coverage-gap, state tax penalty is March 31, 2020.

The penalty for a family not having health insurance in 2020 could be $2,000 or more. If you aren’t covered for most of the year in 2020, you could face a penalty at tax time unless you qualify for an exemption.

Estimates of the penalty for not having health insurance*
Individual $695 minimum
Married couple $1,390 minimum
Family of 4 (two children) $2,085 minimum

*FTB regulations regarding the mandate penalty are being finalized and may change.

How to estimate your penalty

The penalty will be either a flat amount based on the number of people in the household, or a percentage of the household income. Individuals will pay the higher amount of the two calculations:

  • Flat amount
    You pay $695 per adult and $347.50 per child.
  • Percentage of household income
    You pay 2.5% of your gross income that is above the filing threshold based on your tax filing status and number of dependents.

You can use the tool below to estimate the penalty you may owe if you didn't have qualifying health insurance coverage last year.

Estimate tax penalty

Qualifying for an exemption

Some individuals may not have to pay a penalty if they qualify for an exemption.

Exemptions through Covered California

  • Affordability
    If the lowest cost Bronze plan or employer plan exceeds 8.24% of your household income
  • General hardship
    Homelessness, eviction or foreclosure, domestic violence, death of a family member, natural disaster, bankruptcy, medical expenses and other conditions
  • Religious conscience
    A member of a recognized religious sect or division who is opposed to acceptance of the benefits of any private or public insurance

Exemptions through Franchise Tax Board

  • Most exemptions from the mandate will be claimed when filing 2020 state income tax returns in early 2021. A full listing of exemptions can be found at www.ftb.ca.gov.

Did you know that there’s a new special qualifying event?

If you were unaware of the 2020 state tax penalty and still don’t have minimum essential health coverage, you can still apply. Apply soon, because applications will be accepted for a limited time — Feb. 1, 2020 – Apr. 30, 2020.